Board of Directors

Current Board of Directors for the Reserve Bank Health Society

Warren Wise

Warren joined the Board of the RBHS in 2008, becoming Chairperson in November 2022.

Warren has extensive managerial experience in the banking and payments area of the Reserve Bank of Australia and is currently a Senior Manager in the Payment Settlements Department. Warren’s responsibilities have included managing payment system improvement projects with banking industry participants, working with Australian Government agencies on the provision of banking and payment services, and managing the operational area responsible for the Reserve Bank’s financial market settlements.

In these roles Warren has represented the Reserve Bank on a number of payment industry committees. Warren is also experienced in strategic planning, governance and quality assurance processes.

Warren holds a Bachelor of Business degree and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Emma Maley

Emma is currently the Executive Manager, Cyber Recovery Planning at the Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA) where she is responsible for ensuring business units are prepared for and can recover from a major cyber-attack. She had had extensive managerial and Senior Leadership experience across a variety of IT and Cyber Security roles.

Prior to joining CBA, Emma was at the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) for over 17 years where she had various roles within the Information Technology Department including the Senior Manager, IT Security (CISO) from (2009-2014) and the Senior Manager, Enterprise Systems from 2015-2020 responsible for the IT relationship and activities supporting the Secretary’s, Audit, Risk and Compliance, HR, Finance, Information and Workplace departments.

Emma has been a Director of the RBHS since 2013 and is currently the Chair of the Product and Members Committee. She has a Bachelor of Science (Computer) and is a Graduate for the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sharon Suan

Sharon is currently the Head of Investment and Insurance Regulatory Governance at AMP with responsibility for oversight of the investment and insurance governance arrangements for AMP Life Limited, the National Mutual Life Association of Australasia Limited, AMP Superannuation Limited, N.M. Superannuation Proprietary Limited and NMMT Limited. In this role, Sharon also provides investment governance advisory and executive support to the AMP Investment Committee.

Prior to joining AMP in 2012, Sharon was at the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) for over 13 years. Over this period, Sharon worked in various roles within the Bank’s Financial System Group, Financial Markets Group and Economic Group. Sharon holds a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) degree from the University of Western Australia and is a Chartered Financial Analyst ® (CFA) Charterholder.

David McKenna

David is an experienced entrepreneur, non-executive director, and public sector leader. He brings fresh thinking and a passion for human-centred design to his roles in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors. He has a passion for economic development, education and driving social impact.

David is the Innovation Architect at the Reserve Bank of Australia, where he supports the Agency’s exploration of new and emerging technology; new ways of working; and builds innovation capability. Prior to joining the RBA David has had a long career in the public sector where he specialised in innovation, transformation, social policy, indigenous employment, and corporate governance. He also sits on several boards, including an aged care provider which he co-founded, and a large community service for purpose enterprise.

David holds a Bachelor of Applied Entrepreneurship, a Graduate Certificate of Laws, a Postgraduate Certificate in Politics and Public Policy, and a Master of Public Administration. He is also a PhD Candidate at the University of Canberra where he is researching best practice innovation frameworks, innovation governance, and strategic innovation with a public sector lens. David is also a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Kristin Langwasser

Kristin is currently the Senior Manager, Payments Safety & Resilience in the Payments Policy Department of the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) where she is responsible for the extension of the RBA’s supervision of systemically important payment systems to include payment systems where an outage could cause significant economic disruption. Prior to this role, Kristin worked in the RBA’s Banking Department, responsible for risk & compliance, strategy and business policy, and Note Issue department, primarily managing the Next Generation Banknote project.

Prior to joining the RBA in 2015, Kristin was at the Reserve Bank of New Zealand (RBNZ) for 7 years where she had various roles within the Currency Department and managed the project to upgrade NZ’s banknote series and associated quality management.

Kristin has been a Director of the RBHS since 2023. She has a Master of Science (Economics) degree from Rostock University, Germany, a Master of Philosophy (Economics) degree from the National University of Ireland, Galway, and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sarah Harris

Sarah is currently the Deputy Head of Payments Settlements Department at the Reserve Bank of Australia, with responsibility for the Reserve Bank’s settlement of high-value payments and interbank obligations arising from the conduct of Exchange Settlement Accounts and the Reserve Bank’s own trading activities. As well as operation of the Reserve Bank Information and Transfer System and the Fast Settlements Service for settlement of New Payments Platform transactions.

Prior to her current position Sarah held a number of roles in Payments Policy including leading the team with oversight of payments, clearing and settlement systems and associated policy and research.  The team also contributed to the development and implementation of resolution, recovery and other crisis management policies relating to financial market infrastructure.

Before working at the RBA, she worked at the UK Financial Services Authority for over 13 years, including stints running the clearing and settlement supervision team and working in the banking and market divisions.

Sarah has been a Non-Executive Director of the RBHS since January 2023. She is a member of the Audit Committee and the Nominations and Remuneration Committee. She has a Bachelor of Science (Hons) Finance and Accounting and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sam Tomaras

Sam is currently the Financial Controller at the Reserve Bank of Australia, overseeing all aspects of the RBA’s financial reporting, treasury, taxation, procurement, corporate payments and payroll functions, and has primary oversight of the Bank’s capital framework. Sam has previously held various roles within the RBA’s Finance, Risk and Compliance, Domestic Markets and International departments, including the Deputy Chief Representative role at the RBA’s New York representative office.

Sam commenced as a Director of the RBHS in 2023 and is a member of the Audit Committee. Sam has a Bachelor of Business (Finance and Accounting) and is a Certified Practicing Accountant (CPA).